Tuesday's Gone by Nicci French audiobook

Tuesday's Gone: A Frieda Klein Mystery

By Nicci French
Read by Beth Chalmers

Penguin Audio 9780670025671

The Frieda Klein Series: Book 2

12.70 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $17.50
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781101605134

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Blue Monday leaves readers with the promise of intriguing tales to come”  —People (four-star review) Internationally bestselling authors Nicci Gerard and Sean French, writing as Nicci French, have sold more than eight million copies of their books worldwide. But nothing they’ve written written before has grabbed the attention of reviewers and readers like Blue Monday and its iconic heroine, Frieda Klein. In a starred review, Publishers Weekly called it a “superb psychological thriller . . . with brooding atmosphere, sustained suspense, a last-minute plot twist, and memorable cast of characters.” In Tuesday’s Gone, a London social worker makes a routine home visit only to discover her client, Michelle Doyce, serving afternoon tea to a naked, decomposing corpse. With no clues as to the dead man’s identity, Chief Inspector Karlsson again calls upon Frieda for help. She discovers that the body belongs to Robert Poole, con man extraordinaire. But Frieda can’t shake the feeling that the past isn’t done with her yet. Did someone kill Poole to embroil her in the investigation? And if so, is Frieda herself the next victim? A masterpiece of paranoia, Tuesday’s Gone draws readers inexorably into a fractured and faithless world as it brilliantly confirms Frieda Klein as a quintessential heroine for our times.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

An AudioFile Editors’ Pick in April 2013

Blue Monday leaves readers with the promise of intriguing tales to come”  —People (four-star review)

Internationally bestselling authors Nicci Gerard and Sean French, writing as Nicci French, have sold more than eight million copies of their books worldwide. But nothing they’ve written written before has grabbed the attention of reviewers and readers like Blue
Monday
and its iconic heroine, Frieda Klein. In a starred review, Publishers Weekly called it a “superb psychological thriller . . . with brooding atmosphere, sustained suspense, a last-minute plot twist, and memorable cast of characters.”

In Tuesday’s Gone, a London social worker makes a routine home visit only to discover her client, Michelle Doyce, serving afternoon tea to a naked, decomposing corpse. With no clues as to the dead man’s identity, Chief Inspector Karlsson again calls upon Frieda for help. She discovers that the body belongs to Robert Poole, con man extraordinaire. But Frieda can’t shake the feeling that the past isn’t done with her yet. Did someone kill Poole to embroil her in the investigation? And if so, is Frieda herself the next victim?

A masterpiece of paranoia, Tuesday’s Gone draws readers inexorably into a fractured and faithless world as it brilliantly confirms Frieda Klein as a quintessential heroine for our times.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Complex and flawed, Frieda Klein is a refreshingly human protagonist, an intriguing debut for a truly unique character. Tami Hoag, bestselling author of Down the Darkest Road
This is psychological suspense done right. The authors pace themselves and build the tension slowly while carefully developing each of the players. For fans of Tana French’s and Lisa Gardner’s moody, dark, twisty thrillers. Library Journal
With its smart plot, crisp prose, and a stunning final twist, this is psychological suspense at its best. Absolutely riveting. Booklist, starred review
A searing psychological thriller in the rich vein of Kate Atkinson and Laura Lippman, Blue Monday is powerful and gripping—a page-turner with heart and soul.  Psychotherapist Frieda Klein is an enormously appealing new series hero. Joseph Finder, bestselling author of Buried Secrets
Unrelenting . . . unnerving . . .  unforgettable. Psychological dynamite. Alan Bradley, bestselling author of The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
Nicci French is undeniably at the top of British psychological suspense writing. The Observer (UK)
A fabulous, unsettling, and riveting look at motives and memory and relationships. And what drives people to do the unthinkable. Louise Penny, bestselling author of A Trick of the Light
Nicci French creates a haunting and complex psychological puzzle about memory and heredity, with enough twists and turns to keep you guessing until the very end.  This gripping thriller certainly bodes well for the future of the series and I look forward to reading more about unlikely heroine Frieda Klein. Camilla Läckberg, bestselling author of The Ice Princess
[A] superb psychological thriller . . . With its brooding atmosphere, sustained suspense, last-minute plot twist, and memorable cast of characters, this series debut will leave readers eager to discover what color Tuesday will be. Publishers Weekly, starred review
A neat puzzle with a satisfying resolution and a terrific twist at the end. The New York Times Book Review
Starts as a grim psychological thriller in the vein of Dennis Lehane’s darker novels and turns into a fascinating puzzle in which character analysis holds sway. Highly recommended for fans of psychological suspense who enjoy a complex protagonist. Library Journal (starred review)
Seamlessly mixes a foreboding tone and deliberate pacing with deft plot twists that should leave readers pleasantly chilled to the bone. Publishers Weekly
A fiercely intelligent, multilayered thriller. Kirkus
“Seamlessly mixes a foreboding tone and deliberate pacing with deft plot twists that should leave readers pleasantly chilled to the bone.” Publishers Weekly
The plotting is fast-paced with surprises galore, and characters literally come to life on the pages. . . . When readers are through, they will find themselves waiting impatiently for Wednesday to arrive! Suspense Magazine
Fast-paced and spooky…it leaves readers with the promise of intriguing tales to come. People (****)
Tuesday’s Gone is one of those great, great books in the mystery genre wherein the more you know, the less you know—peel back one stratum and you cannot shovel fast enough to get into the next, which reveals anything but what you expected. French takes the novel on a number of unexpected twists and turns, not the least of which relates back to BLUE MONDAY, which, as it turns out, didn’t quite end on its last page. Bookreporter.com
If you are looking for wickedly inventive crime fiction, you need look no further than the writing team of Nicci Gerrard and Sean French . . . Unless you are into tension, paranoia and burning the midnight oil to finish a book, don’t embark on reading Tuesday’s Gone after suppertime! BookPage
“Starts as a grim psychological thriller in the vein of Dennis Lehane’s darker novels and turns into a fascinating puzzle in which character analysis holds sway. Highly recommended for fans of psychological suspense who enjoy a complex protagonist.” Library Journal (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nicci French

Author Bio: Nicci French

Nicci French is the pseudonym for the writing partnership of internationally bestselling suspense writers Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. More than eight million copies of their books have sold worldwide. Their novels include the Frieda Klein thriller series and many stand-alone novels.

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Runtime: 12.70
Audience: Adult
Language: English