Under the Egg by Laura Marx Fitzgerald audiobook

Under the Egg

By Laura Marx Fitzgerald
Read by Jessica Almasy

Listening Library (Audio)
5.90 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $18.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781101915493

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler meets Chasing Vermeer in this clever middle grade debut When Theodora Tenpenny spills a bottle of rubbing alcohol on her late grandfather’s painting, she discovers what seems to be an old Renaissance masterpiece underneath. That’s great news for Theo, who’s struggling to hang onto her family’s two-hundred-year-old townhouse and support her unstable mother on her grandfather’s legacy of $463. There’s just one problem: Theo’s grandfather was a security guard at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and she worries the painting may be stolen. With the help of some unusual new friends, Theo's search for answers takes her all around Manhattan, and introduces her to a side of the city—and her grandfather—that she never knew. To solve the mystery, she'll have to abandon her hard-won self-reliance and build a community, one serendipitous friendship at a time. “Uniquely readable, entirely charming, and a pleasure from start to finish. Debuts this good are meant to be discovered.” —SLJ Fuse 8 Blog “Riveting from start to finish.” —BookPage 

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

An Indie Next List Pick

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler meets Chasing Vermeer in this clever middle grade debut

When Theodora Tenpenny spills a bottle of rubbing alcohol on her late grandfather’s painting, she discovers what seems to be an old Renaissance masterpiece underneath. That’s great news for Theo, who’s struggling to hang onto her family’s two-hundred-year-old townhouse and support her unstable mother on her grandfather’s legacy of $463. There’s just one problem: Theo’s grandfather was a security guard at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and she worries the painting may be stolen.

With the help of some unusual new friends, Theo's search for answers takes her all around Manhattan, and introduces her to a side of the city—and her grandfather—that she never knew. To solve the mystery, she'll have to abandon her hard-won self-reliance and build a community, one serendipitous friendship at a time.

“Uniquely readable, entirely charming, and a pleasure from start to finish. Debuts this good are meant to be discovered.” —SLJ Fuse 8 Blog

“Riveting from start to finish.” —BookPage 

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Fans of Blue Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer and Elise Broach’s Masterpiece will enjoy this art caper. School Library Journal
Fans of From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler will find this another delightful lesson in art history. Publishers Weekly
A fast-paced mystery...If Dan Brown of The Da Vinci Code wrote middle-grade novels, this would be the one. Kirkus Reviews
A gripping mystery with high stakes and moving historical context...[Fitzgerald's] focus on restitution and the personal value of art adds considerable depth to the narrative. The Horn Book
Under the Egg” is an exciting page-turner. Deseret News
This mix of mystery, history and art will keep readers wondering right up to the surprising end. Discovery Girls  
Riveting from start to finish. BookPage
Uniquely readable, entirely charming, and a pleasure from start to finish. Debuts this good are meant to be discovered. Betsy Bird, SLJ Fuse 8 Blog
* "Along with the themes of research, family commitment, and Holocaust history, fans of Koningsburg’s From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler and Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer will thrill at the chance to solve a new mystery centered around art. Library Media Connection, starred review
It's really a very compelling read and I don't know how she did it. Kate DiCamillo on NPR
An Indie Next List Pick!
With surprising twists, heartwarming moments and historical facts, Laura Marx Fitzgerald creates the perfect adventure in Under the Egg. Art enthusiast or not, any girl will love this book. GirlsLife.com
“Along with the themes of research, family commitment, and Holocaust history, fans of Koningsburg’s From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler and Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer will thrill at the chance to solve a new mystery centered around art.” Library Media Connection (starred review)
“Theo’s household is vividly portrayed, from her grandfather’s creative ingenuity to her mother’s tenuous hold on reality. Smart and determined, down-to-earth and insightful, Theo makes an engaging narrator as she follows a winding trail of discovery. Along the way, Fitzgerald includes a good bit of art history, which becomes as interesting as the interplay between the two friends.” Booklist (starred review)
“A fast-paced mystery…If Dan Brown of The Da Vinci Code wrote middle-grade novels, this would be the one.” Kirkus Reviews
“Narrator Jessica Almasy’s warm, reassuring candor is a welcome companion during this captivating coming-of-age mystery…Almasy’s interpretations of Fitzgerald’s spirited characters are engrossing. Nuanced, confident portrayals draw listeners into Theodora’s world…Pacing is key in a story with so many interwoven parts, and Almasy’s delivery lends urgency where needed but slows to allow particularly significant moments to unfurl.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Laura Marx Fitzgerald

Author Bio: Laura Marx Fitzgerald

Laura Marx Fitzgerald is an author whose first book for young readers, Under the Egg, won the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association’s Middle Grade Book of the Year Award. She grew up in the South and studied art history at Harvard and Cambridge Universities.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 5.90
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English