Void Star

By Zachary Mason
Read by Cassandra Campbell , Tristan Morris , Sean Pratt , and Michael Braun

15.97 Hours 04/11/2017 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $22.95

    Special Price $18.36

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781504792707

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781504792714

  • $39.95

    ISBN: 9781504792684

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781504792691

Not far in the future, the seas have risen and the central latitudes are emptying. But it’s still a good time to be rich in San Francisco, where weapons-drones patrol the skies to keep out the multitudinous poor. Irina isn’t rich, not quite, but she does have an artificial memory that gives her perfect recall and lets her act as a medium between her various employers and their AIs, which are complex to the point of opacity. It’s a good gig, paying enough for the annual visits to the Mayo Clinic that keep her from aging. Kern has no such access; he’s one of the many refugees in the sprawling drone-built favelas on the city’s periphery, where he lives like a monk, training relentlessly in martial arts, scraping by as a thief and an enforcer. Thales is from a different world entirely―the mathematically inclined scion of a Brazilian political clan, he’s fled to LA after the attack that left him crippled and his father dead. A ragged stranger accosts Thales and demands to know how much he can remember. Kern flees for his life after robbing the wrong mark. Irina finds a secret in the reflection of a laptop’s screen in her employer’s eyeglasses. None are safe as they’re pushed together by subtle forces that stay just out of sight. Vivid, tumultuous, and propulsive, Void Star is Zachary Mason’s mind-bending follow-up to his critically acclaimed novel, The Lost Books of the Odyssey.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

An Amazon Editor’s Top Pick for April 2017

Not far in the future, the seas have risen and the central latitudes are emptying. But it’s still a good time to be rich in San Francisco, where weapons-drones patrol the skies to keep out the multitudinous poor.

Irina isn’t rich, not quite, but she does have an artificial memory that gives her perfect recall and lets her act as a medium between her various employers and their AIs, which are complex to the point of opacity. It’s a good gig, paying enough for the annual visits to the Mayo Clinic that keep her from aging.

Kern has no such access; he’s one of the many refugees in the sprawling drone-built favelas on the city’s periphery, where he lives like a monk, training relentlessly in martial arts, scraping by as a thief and an enforcer.

Thales is from a different world entirely―the mathematically inclined scion of a Brazilian political clan, he’s fled to LA after the attack that left him crippled and his father dead.

A ragged stranger accosts Thales and demands to know how much he can remember. Kern flees for his life after robbing the wrong mark. Irina finds a secret in the reflection of a laptop’s screen in her employer’s eyeglasses. None are safe as they’re pushed together by subtle forces that stay just out of sight.

Vivid, tumultuous, and propulsive, Void Star is Zachary Mason’s mind-bending follow-up to his critically acclaimed novel, The Lost Books of the Odyssey.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Reading with the dispassionate intensity of skilled narrators, Cassandra Campbell, Sean Pratt, Tristan Morris, and Michael Braun lead the listener on a dark and shattering tour of an all-too-near dystopian future.” AudioFile
“Extraordinary…The hallucinatory beauty of the prose is matched only by the book’s velocity and mystery.” Emily St. John Mandel, National Book Award finalist
“A propulsive adventure story…fascinating characters attempting to survive in a transformed yet strangely familiar world, the only thing that isn’t eerily plausible is just how thrilling this adventure of the artificial mind is.” BuzzFeed
“A complex and spellbinding tale of a future where self-preservation, in every sense of the word, is a victory.” Library Journal (starred review)
“A vivid story, complete with a chilling and satisfying ending.” Publishers Weekly
“Readers who enjoy Cormac McCarthy and China Mieville but wished they had had more influence from Neal Stephenson might find this book is just what they’re looking for.” Booklist
“This is the best and most beautiful book about computers since Neuromancer.” Michael Clune, author of Gamelife: A Memoir

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Zachary Mason

Zachary Mason is the author of the New York Times bestselling novel The Lost Books of the Odyssey. He lives in California.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Science Fiction
Runtime: 15.97
Audience: Adult
Language: English