Ways to Disappear by Idra Novey audiobook

Ways to Disappear: A Novel

By Idra Novey
Read by Susan Hanfield

Little, Brown & Company 9780316298490
4.52 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781478904632

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

For fans of Robin Sloan's Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette, an inventive, brilliant debut novel about the disappearance of a famous Brazilian novelist and the young translator who turns her life upside down to follow her author's trail. Beatriz Yagoda was once one of Brazil's most celebrated authors. At the age of sixty, she is mostly forgotten-until one summer afternoon when she enters a park in Rio de Janeiro, climbs into an almond tree, and disappears. When her devoted translator Emma hears the news in wintry Pittsburgh, she flies to the sticky heat of Rio. There she joins the author's son and daughter to solve the mystery of Yagoda's disappearance and satisfy the demands of the colorful characters left in her wake, including a loan shark with a debt to collect and the washed-up editor who launched Yagoda's career. What they discover is how much of her they never knew. Exquisitely imagined and as profound as it is suspenseful, Ways to Disappear is at once a thrilling story of intrigue and a radiant novel of self-reckoning. "An elegant page-turner....Charges forward with the momentum of a bullet."-New York Times Book Review

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A BookPage Top Pick for February 2016

A New York Times Editor’s Choice

For fans of Robin Sloan's Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette, an inventive, brilliant debut novel about the disappearance of a famous Brazilian novelist and the young translator who turns her life upside down to follow her author's trail. Beatriz Yagoda was once one of Brazil's most celebrated authors. At the age of sixty, she is mostly forgotten-until one summer afternoon when she enters a park in Rio de Janeiro, climbs into an almond tree, and disappears. When her devoted translator Emma hears the news in wintry Pittsburgh, she flies to the sticky heat of Rio. There she joins the author's son and daughter to solve the mystery of Yagoda's disappearance and satisfy the demands of the colorful characters left in her wake, including a loan shark with a debt to collect and the washed-up editor who launched Yagoda's career. What they discover is how much of her they never knew. Exquisitely imagined and as profound as it is suspenseful, Ways to Disappear is at once a thrilling story of intrigue and a radiant novel of self-reckoning. "An elegant page-turner....Charges forward with the momentum of a bullet."-New York Times Book Review

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A lush page-turner, a journey into the unique madness of modern Brazil, and a joyful ride into the crazed passion of literary creation itself…with equal brio and wit.” Héctor Tobar, New York Times bestselling author
“Novey is astute, funny, and cunning in this story, which even in its brevity covers so much lush ground.” Elle
“Sleek.” Vogue
“If New Directions’ reissue of Clarice Lispector’s The Complete Stories left you wanting more mysterious Brazilian-lady writers, Idra Novey’s debut novel is here for you.” Village Voice
“A clever literary mystery…It has its share of violence and romance—it reads like an Ali Smith novel with a fun Brazilian noir vibe…[with] an eloquent meditation on the art and anxiety of translation, as well as a story about literature as a means of revelation and concealment.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Stylish, absurd, sometimes romantic, and often very funny… Like a dream, the book is almost overwhelmingly vivid…It’s a tour de force. Delightful and original.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Idra Novey

Author Bio: Idra Novey

Idra Novey is an award-winning poet and translator. Born in western Pennsylvania, she has since lived in Chile, Brazil, and New York. Her collection Exit, Civilian was selected for the 2011 National Poetry Series. She currently teaches in the creative writing program at Princeton University.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 4.52
Audience: Adult
Language: English