Where Dead Men Meet

By Mark Mills
Read by David Linski

11.49 Hours 05/30/2017 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (49Tracks)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $15.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781504797764

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781504797771

  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781504797740

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781504797757

  • Regular Price: $26.99

    Special Price $18.89

    ISBN: 9781504779739

  • Regular Price: $16.99

    Special Price $11.89

    Available on 02/06/2018

    ISBN: 9781538507520

A return to the period adventure thriller in Where Dead Men Meet reestablishes Mark Mills as a master storyteller for fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming, or Robert Harris. Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton—a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy—finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity—or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding toward war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago. From the author of the bestselling The Savage Garden, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets, and lies.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Strand Magazine Pick of top 12 mysteries of 2017

An Audible Pick of Top Mystery of the Week

A return to the period adventure thriller in Where Dead Men Meet reestablishes Mark Mills as a master storyteller for fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming, or Robert Harris.

Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton—a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy—finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity—or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding toward war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago.

From the author of the bestselling The Savage Garden, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets, and lies.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A grand adventure, in the tradition of Graham Greene…a sweeping race through Europe for the highest possible stakes, in the year before the Anschluss.” Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author
“A taut thriller…From the opening scene, even the opening line, we know we’re in the hands of a master storyteller…Highly recommended.” Historical Novels Review
“Like watching a classic Alfred Hitchcock movie…Smart entertainment, a suspenseful escapade across Europe with a dash of romance and involving characters who insist you come along for the unforgettable ride.” Shelf Awareness
“Set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, Where Dead Men Meet is a compelling and deftly crafted novel by a master of the genre. Rich in adventure, espionage, secrets, and lies, Where Dead Men Meet is a highly entertaining adventure thriller.” Midwest Book Review
“A pulse-pounding thriller of the first order…Believable characters, a richly detailed historical setting, and a story that keeps the reader’s attention glued until the final page.” Library Journal (starred review)
“Like Alan Furst, Mills has a sure hand with historical thrillers that mix intrigue, setting, and romance, and, after a five-year absence, it’s great to have him back.” Booklist
“Dramatic and intriguing.” Publishers Weekly
“Australian-born reader Linski…[provides] a brisk narration that maintains its energy and compulsive pacing throughout. His Luke seems initially perplexed by his sudden propulsion into an unfamiliar and very dangerous world, but before long there’s strength and self-confidence in his voice that lets listeners glide through this story of international intrigue.” Publishers Weekly (audio review)
“A powerhouse of a novel, throwing sparks and hissing steam as it traverses the fractious landscape of prewar Europe in the company of vivid and memorable characters.” Dan Fesperman, award-winning author of The Letter Writer
“The best novel I read this year. Where Dead Men Meet is an exhilarating and hair-raising charge through prewar Europe, with danger at every stunningly beautiful turn. Mills’ descriptions of Paris, Venice, and Zurich are filled with both elegance and lurking menace. Mark Mills is Alan Furst with afterburners, and this book is a powerful tale of revenge, love, and self-discovery, all packed into an utterly compelling historical thriller.” Mark Pryor, author of The Paris Librarian
“This book hit a lot of the right buttons for me…I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good spy novel with a little pre-WWII intrigue thrown in.” Big Bald Books

Reviews

Reviews

by Finn 9/14/2017
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

Compelling story, delicious listen...

A thoughtful and carefully crafted plot, which speeds across Europe ripe with unexpected twists and turns, keeping the reader captivated throughout. As a newcomer to Mills' writing, I will definitely keep an eye out for his next book. The narrator also nails it - pleasant on the ears for sure, and just enough drama to keep it engaging but not over-the-top. Bravo on both accounts.

Author

Author Bio: Mark Mills

Mark Mills is a screenwriter and the author of The Savage Garden and Amagansett. His first novel, Amagansett, was published in a dozen countries and received the British Crime Writers’ Association John Creasy Memorial Dagger Award. A graduate of Cambridge University, he lives in Oxford with his wife and their two children.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD, Hardcover, Paperback
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 11.49
Audience: Adult
Language: English