Wishing Day by Lauren Myracle audiobook

Wishing Day

By Lauren Myracle
Read by Brittany Pressley

HarperCollins, Katherine Tegen Books 9780062342065
6.68 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $18.99

    Special Price $9.50

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062467980

  • Regular Price: $29.99

    Special Price $17.99

    ISBN: 9781504732789

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $23.99

    ISBN: 9781504733076

From beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle comes the first book in an enchanting trilogy about three sisters, the magic of traditions, and the extraordinary power of hope. This heartwarming, timeless story is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Ingrid Law. On the third night of the third month after a girl’s thirteenth birthday, every girl in the town of Willow Hill makes three wishes. The first wish is an impossible wish. The second is a wish she can make come true herself. And the third is the deepest wish of her secret heart. Natasha is the oldest child in a family steeped in magic, though she’s not sure she believes in it. She’s full to bursting with wishes, however. She misses her mother, who disappeared nearly eight long years ago. She has a crush on one of the cutest boys in her class, and she thinks maybe it would be nice if her very first kiss came from him. And amid the chaos of a house full of sisters, aunts, and a father lost in grief, she aches to simply be . . . noticed. So Natasha goes to the willow tree at the top of the hill on her Wishing Day, and she makes three wishes. What unfolds is beyond anything she could have imagined. 

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Library Journal Audio-in-Advance Pick for Middle Grade

From beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle comes the first book in an enchanting trilogy about three sisters, the magic of traditions, and the extraordinary power of hope. This heartwarming, timeless story is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Ingrid Law.

On the third night of the third month after a girl’s thirteenth birthday, every girl in the town of Willow Hill makes three wishes.

The first wish is an impossible wish.

The second is a wish she can make come true herself.

And the third is the deepest wish of her secret heart.

Natasha is the oldest child in a family steeped in magic, though she’s not sure she believes in it. She’s full to bursting with wishes, however. She misses her mother, who disappeared nearly eight long years ago. She has a crush on one of the cutest boys in her class, and she thinks maybe it would be nice if her very first kiss came from him. And amid the chaos of a house full of sisters, aunts, and a father lost in grief, she aches to simply be . . . noticed.

So Natasha goes to the willow tree at the top of the hill on her Wishing Day, and she makes three wishes. What unfolds is beyond anything she could have imagined. 

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Heart! Humor! Sisterhood! Magic! Myracle’s new book has it all. My three wishes? World peace and two more Wishing Day novels.” Sarah Mlynowski, New York Times bestselling author
“Myracle infuses enchantment into a heartwarming and well-written tale of sisters navigating a world without their mother.” Publishers Weekly
“Portraying characters in ways that make them immediately easy to differentiate and ultimately memorable, Myracle lets the reader decide whether magic is really coming into play.” Booklist
“Beyond a family or friendship story, issues of mental illness, homelessness, and what it means to be a girl are explored without tipping into the realm of overt message.” School Library Journal
“Has just enough magic to be unsettling and keep readers engaged. Natasha and her sisters…are clearly drawn, believable characters.” Kirkus Reviews
“Narrator Brittany Pressley’s youthful-sounding pitch provides an immediate connection between the listener and Natasha…Pressley infuses her performance with spunk and personality, creating distinctive voices for the varied characters and capturing the full range of teenage emotions…Pressley’s expressive narration will engage the entire family.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lauren Myracle

Author Bio: Lauren Myracle

Lauren Myracle is the New York Times bestselling author of many books for young readers, including the Winnie Years series, the Flower Power series, and the Life of Ty series. She would like to be a Fuzzy so she could talk to unicorns and feed them berries.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 6.68
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English