Zanna’s Gift: A Life in Christmases

By Orson Scott Card writing as Scott Richards
Directed by Judy Young
Read by Emily Janice Card and Stefan Rudnicki

2.25 Hours 12/04/2008 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $9.95

    Special Price $7.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781455194445

  • $3.95

    ISBN: 9781482129021

  • $19.95

    ISBN: 9781433278341

  • $19.95

    ISBN: 9781433278358

From the pen of a masterful storyteller comes a touching and inspirational story of love, loss, and the true meaning of Christmas that will take its place beside Richard Paul Evans’ Christmas Box trilogy as a timeless classic that will be passed from generation to generation. When the Pullman family lost their eldest son, Ernie, to an unexpected illness just before Christmas, 1938, it was devastating to all of them, but especially to young Suzanna, their four-year-old daughter, who shared a special bond with her big brother. A strangely gifted child, Zanna loved to draw, but Ernie was the only one who was able to see the pictures in the curious patterns she made. Sadly, he did not live to see the Christmas drawing she had made for him that year. This is the story of that gift and how it inspired her and her whole family, generation to generation, to keep alive the spirit of imagination, hope, and love for Christmases to come. Zanna grew up to be a famous artist, but in the hearts of her children and grandchildren, her nieces and nephews, that last painting she made for her big brother was truly her most important work. Christmas after Christmas, as the long decades pass up to the present day, the author allows us to share in the warmth of a family bound together by the transcendent miracle of love. Zanna’s life, told in Christmases, will inspire you to keep alive your own family traditions, to share those loving moments with your children and grandchildren for years to come.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

From the pen of a masterful storyteller comes a touching and inspirational story of love, loss, and the true meaning of Christmas that will take its place beside Richard Paul Evans’ Christmas Box trilogy as a timeless classic that will be passed from generation to generation.

When the Pullman family lost their eldest son, Ernie, to an unexpected illness just before Christmas, 1938, it was devastating to all of them, but especially to young Suzanna, their four-year-old daughter, who shared a special bond with her big brother. A strangely gifted child, Zanna loved to draw, but Ernie was the only one who was able to see the pictures in the curious patterns she made. Sadly, he did not live to see the Christmas drawing she had made for him that year.

This is the story of that gift and how it inspired her and her whole family, generation to generation, to keep alive the spirit of imagination, hope, and love for Christmases to come.

Zanna grew up to be a famous artist, but in the hearts of her children and grandchildren, her nieces and nephews, that last painting she made for her big brother was truly her most important work. Christmas after Christmas, as the long decades pass up to the present day, the author allows us to share in the warmth of a family bound together by the transcendent miracle of love. Zanna’s life, told in Christmases, will inspire you to keep alive your own family traditions, to share those loving moments with your children and grandchildren for years to come.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Zanna’s Gift is a Christmas message for our time: a wise and poignant tale of love and faith.” Sharyn McCrumb, New York Times bestselling author
“In the tradition of Richard Paul Evans’ The Christmas Box and The Locket, Richards’ sure-to-be-classic tale is highly recommended for the Christmas season and all year round.” Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Orson Scott Card

Orson Scott Card, the author of the New York Times bestseller Ender’s Game, has won several Hugo and Nebula awards for his works of speculative fiction. His Ender novels are widely read by adults and younger readers and are increasingly used in schools. Besides these and other science fiction novels, Card writes contemporary fantasy, American-frontier fantasy, biblical novels, poetry, plays, and scripts.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 2.25
Audience: Adult
Language: English